Posted by Shirley
on October 06, 2000 at 08:02:31:
In Reply to: Dairy substitutes!!! posted by Dini on October 03, 2000 at 20:47:42:
There are rice milks on the market and there is a product called Darifree which is made primarily with potatos. Most non dairy cheese does have casein in it which is a milk protein so if you are truly allergic you would want to avoid that as well. For baking I will often substitute water and add a little dairy free margarine- 1 tbsp per half cup to add fat that the milk would have had and have had good results. Margarines also are notorious for having dairy in them, usually whey so find a brand that is safe- I think that often Fleischmanns Unsalted is but check the ingredients for yourself.