View Single Post
Old 11-28-2005, 10:55 AM   #2
(female)

msmom03 HB User
Re: When would it be time accept you have high BP and need medication?

Hi,

I am new here. I have never had trouble with my bp. But I am having trouble now.

I am not over weight. In fact, I have to struggle to stay at a weight that is acceptable to my doctors. And I am a gymnastic coach and a pilate instructor. I exercise a great deal everyday. In fact, my entire life is built around physical activity.

I tell you this because my blood pressure has no simple solutions. "Exercise and lose ten pounds" is not a statement that doctors can say to me.

My husband has had blood pressure issues since he has been your age. We do not eat salty foods as I have been very strict about watching his diet for him. He watches also. Salt is something that neither one of us even like due to the 15 years or so we have lived without it.

Yet, my blood pressure numbers have been very similar to yours as of late.

What do I do? How do I lower them?

I do worry about my bp. And that tends to add to the problem. Yet, my uncle died at 46 years old because he would not take medication for his blood pressure. Eventually his organs died and so did he. Sad really. He had his own problems, but obesity was not one of them.

For me, the answer is easy. Medication is needed. That is how I feel. I am a bit upset now because I feel I am not be medicated aggressively enough. I have truly been questioning my doctor about that. I see her on Friday for another visit.

There are many things that a person can die from in this world. Many things that hit a life where little control can be grasped. But bp is not one of them to me. I am not going to die from my organs being pounded to death due to my own stubbornness.