View Single Post
Old 01-08-2009, 07:43 PM   #5
(male)

Allysdair HB User
Re: Anyone with Chronic idiopathic nausea?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bungee3006 View Post
Hi guys. This is my first time posting, Im looking for people with chronic idiopathic nausea. Having recently been "diagnosed" after 3 years of terrible sympotoms, Im looking for others with this disorder. I can find barely any information online, and it seems that there are no recognised treatment plans. Just trial and error.
Its not strictly a digestive disorder, but with the symptom being nausea, I guess this is the board that would most closely fit.
I am taking:
Amitryplinine (with the hope it can prevent the nausea)
Metoclopramide (to eleviate symptoms)
Zofran (for a rescue remedy for bad nausea)

Anyone else going through this? And how are you managing your symptoms?
I have exactly the same problem and have been dealing with it for the past 10 years or so. Just as you, I've had every test possible and nothing has come back conclusive. Most doctors would automatically go for the "You have GERD" and push PPIs, which in my case made things worse.

POST EDIT : I thought I would clarify how Chronic Idiopathic Nausea is loosely defined for me

- No gallbladder component. Ultrasound/HIDA normal.
- No Hypercalcaemia
- Normal CBC, WBC, sed rate, CRP, thyroid
- Normal EGD
- No chest pain
- Vomiting is rare
- No diet or food correlation: spicy food, fatty foods, caffeine, etc. have no influence
- Normal esophageal PH test
- Normal LES tone
- No psychological component eg. anxiety disorder
- Normal digestive process/bowel movements
- No Gastroparesis
- Normal small bowel follow-through

END POST EDIT

I spent a couple years reading medical textbooks and published papers so I could at least speak intelligently/medically with my GI doctor. He finely admitted that this is probably CIN and had no idea how to approach it . Like you said, there is just trail and error.