View Single Post
Old 01-09-2009, 02:09 PM   #6
(female)

Bungee3006 HB User
Re: Anyone with Chronic idiopathic nausea?

Hi there,

This may be long, so bear with me!

Unfortunately I havent noticed anything that worsens the symptoms, no sleep or temperature influences, like you have. For me it is slightly worse under stress, and due to this if i have an important event coming up, I find that the anxiety about not feeling nauseous often worsens the nausea.

I live on metoclopramide, for me it is a life saver, I wouldnt be able to function with out it, and I have suffered no side effects at all. I have been taking it daily for three years. I am not depressed, and the amitriptyline is not for depression, but as an experiment to control the nausea. They give it to people with CVS, and I have found that it seems to be improving the situation. My doctor thinks I have a chemical imbalence in the brain which is causing the nausea and something in the Ami seems to block the nausea center in the brain, theyre not sure how, as it is not widely understood yet how it all works.
The zofran for me is a rescue remedy, and i only use it if I have severe nausea and I simply must go out, work, am about to throw up etc. I very rarely throw up, almost never. I highly recommend it as a last resort, but I use it sparingly because it is so expensive, I have to pay about 15$ per disolvable tablet, and thats with insurance.
Without these medications I would be nauseous from the moment I wake to the moment I go to sleep.

For me too, there is no obvious dietary cause, or food component. I have followed a range of elimination diets to no avail. I do find however, that it can sometimes be worse when I have an empty stomach and if I wake in the night I will try to have a small snack, piece of bread, biscuit or something, to stop me from being too empty when I wake.