View Single Post
Old 04-21-2010, 02:15 PM   #1
(female)

Librarian2010 HB User
Subtotal Thyroidectomy Then Regenerated Tissue and Possible Repeat Thyroid Surgery??

Hi Everyone!

I am new to HealthBoards and have searched through the message boards and the index, but I do not see anyone in a similar situation...

I had a subtotal thyroidectomy (right lobe and isthmus removed) in 2005. Surgery took 5 hours, and there was thyroid tissue attached to structures in the neck that could not be removed. The nodule turned out to be benign, but incidental papillary carcinoma 2mm was found near it. I have been on suppression therapy since the surgery. Four years later the tissue that was removed had almost completely regenerated. The next year's ultrasound found that the new tissue also has more nodules. My endocrinologist referred me to surgery. The surgeon ordered FNA Biopsy, Thyroid Scan and Uptake, and a CT scan. I started the low-iodine diet and stopped taking synthroid on April 1, 2010. The FNA Biopsy was done on April 12, 2010. The report is as follows:

Ultrasound Examination: Current ultrasound examination demonstrates a nearly intact, enlarged thyroid gland, with only a portion of the right isthmus missing. There are no discrete nodules. An area of vague nodularity in the right thyroid lobe, measuring up to 0.7 cm, is selected for biopsy. Fine needle aspiration (x1) under ultrasound guidance of the area of vague nodularity in the right thyroid lobe yields adequate material for cytologic evaluation.

Microscopic: Two air-dried, Diff-Quick stained smears are examined. Seen are lymphocytes in various stages of maturation, lymphoid tangles, multinucleated giant cells and sheets and clusters of follicular cells, most with oncocytic metaplasia. The oncocytic metaplasia is characterized by abundant, granular cytoplasm and enlarged, pleomorphic nuclei. There are rare microfollicles.

Diagnosis: Hurthle cell nodule in a background of thyroiditis.