Thread: cutting
View Single Post
Old 12-21-2010, 01:07 AM   #3
(female)

mr09 HB User
Re: cutting

i have been cutting since i was in 7th grade - 12/13 years old. I am now 20 and have experienced many, many ups and downs with cutting. this post can be from the daughter's point of view.

i started cutting when i realized things at home were a little off. i have it so much better than a lot of people, but when your parents are constantly fighting and you notice there is something mentally/emotionally wrong - you have no real support system to turn to.

i started cutting because i needed someone to notice and i needed someone to talk to, however i refused any professional help. i just wanted a friend. my mom has heard about the cutting twice through the school counselor. the first time she told me to was the marker off my arm thinking it was fake, the second time i got help but was VERY reluctant to talk. it wasn't until i was a freshman in college at age 18 that i really started wanting help. it took a good/new friend at school to encourage me to go. she came to every meeting, waiting outside, walked me to and from my dorm and never asked questions - she was just there for support. i was very lucky. (unfortunately i have recently lost that friend and that has been very tragic)