View Single Post
Old 02-10-2011, 05:14 PM   #4
(male)

BroCurt HB User
Re: Successful Ablation for AVNRT

Hello everyone!
I'm a newbie here. I just had an ablation for SVT of the AVNRT type, and I must tell you my story. I had suffered "panic attacks" since the age of twenty. ( I am 50 now) Well, it turns out that it was not panic at all, but rather SVT. I had caught it on a strip during one of my many ER visits back in 1995. Years of thinking I had Panic Disorder. I was told by the doctors it was "benign". Well, I don't know about you, but a heart rate of 210 did not seem benign to me at all. It was terrifying!
My SVT was very sporadic. It could come on during times of extreme emotional duress or hard physical exertion. It would also come on with no apparent reason. Well, on January 27th of this year, I took the leap and had the ablation. I had put it off for a long time, but finally gave in and scheduled an appointment with a very skilled Electrophysiologist.
I live in Tulsa, Ok. and we have one of the BEST EP doctors around. When I say one of the best, I'm talking Johns Hopkins and Mayo Clinic trained. I had been very nervous and worried about the procedure. All of the "what ifs" were locked in my mind! Nonetheless, I was sick of allowing SVT to control my life. Simple things that people relate to as relaxing, such as a vacation or road trip, was a huge a worry to me. What if I have an episode? Where is the nearest hospital? blah, blah, blah.... My life had become controlled by the SVT or worry of it. I was sick of it!