View Single Post
Old 02-23-2011, 11:37 AM   #1
(female)

alltheleaves HB User
Unhappy not sure where to go from here

Hello,

I am new to these message boards and still unsure of how everything works so please bear with me.

I am 31, married, have two young children (ages 5 and 7) and stay at home to care for the house and children. Financially we are in good standing.

I have been depressed as long as I can remember (even as a young girl). My childhood and family life were quite complicated. It wasn't necessarily "bad" but it has affected me in a negative way. I am also in an unhappy marriage. I love my husband dearly but I really don't want to be married to him. We have been married almost 10 years and together almost 14 years. I hate having sex with him and dread it. It is cause for great anxiety on my part as well as quite a bit of depression. There is a bit of background in this area but I won't go into it right now.

I love my children and would do anything for them including give my life for them. I do my best to be a good Mother and care for them the way I feel they should be cared for... but I honestly wish I would never have had children.

I see a therapist every other week and on the weeks I don't see him I see a nurse practitioner. I have seen my therapist for about two years now and feel like I have gotten no where... In fact I feel worse than I did when I started. I have come to realize that only I can change. I can not change others and I can not expect others to change for me. This only makes me more depressed. I don't know what to do. I don't want to hurt anyone. My husband is clueless. He doesn't know how unhappy I am with our marriage. I have expressed my dislike of sex (it usually hurts me quite a bit to have sex) and he understands but he has needs. I feel so trapped.