View Single Post
Old 11-07-2011, 01:47 AM   #16
(female)

nannaluvsu HB User
Re: Kidney Cancer Warriors Part Three

Hello everyone
As you can see, I am a newbie to this site. I was reading up on many of the threads on Kidney cancer when I ran across your threads.

My husband was diagnosed was a cancer called Chromophobe Renal Cell Carcinoma back in May of this year. This is supposedly an extremely rare type - striking only 1% of the world population; or so we have been told. It was actually found accidentally when tests were being run for an injury he had on the job. I guess we can thank God for the work injury occurring when it did - because one of his doctors informed us that had we not found it when we did - we probably would have lost him within six to eight weeks! On May 26th we were told he had the cancer - June 16th he was placed into the hospital - June 17th they performed a procedure to block off the blood supply to the tumor in hopes of shrinking it before they tried to remove it due to the massive size of it - then June 21st, they did the actual nephrectomy to remove the right kidney and tumor. We were told the tumor weighed 4.8 lbs. Amazingly to everyone - we cannot figure out how he did not feel this thing expanding inside him! He then spent until July 5th in the hospital due to the extent to his surgery - and some complications that arose with blood clots after the surgery.