View Single Post
Old 06-17-2012, 06:06 PM   #18
(male)

squeegologist HB User
Re: electric/shock sensation while falling asleep?

I also have had episodes of this in the past, and there was a strong electrical feeling that radiated downward from my head, through my body, but feeling strongest down the arms and legs. An alarming sensation, to say the least. Had about 100+ episodes a year for three or four years, and then they went away. I could find little or nothing similar about it, so I studied up on sleep mechanisms and the related electrochemical cascades that turn off your bodies ability to move. This is known as disfacilitation, and it is a normal part of falling asleep. When I found out about this process, and the timing in which it occurs, namely, right as one passes from consciousness to sleep, it made me think about the sensations I was feeling, and how they exactly coincide with that time of transition into sleep. I also noticed that I had a little bit of a hard time rousing myself, as if I were paralyzed. This happened to me about a third of the time perhaps.

I now firmly believe that the sensations are directly linked to this process. I have recently been having the sensations again, a couple of nights this week.