View Single Post
Old 11-21-2012, 08:46 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

flipfleury HB Userflipfleury HB Userflipfleury HB Userflipfleury HB Userflipfleury HB Userflipfleury HB Userflipfleury HB Userflipfleury HB Userflipfleury HB Userflipfleury HB Userflipfleury HB User
Re: IBS... don't think so.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ForACure View Post
I need help. I have been trying to get help from doctors for a long time, and to no avail.
I am a college student, and I was "diagnosed" with IBS 10 months ago.
When I was in high school, I had some abdominal pain and nausea, probably due to stress. I went to a pediatric GI, he did a colonoscopy and endoscopy, and everything was fine. Like I said, probably stress due to an eating disorder.

10 months ago, I started having pain again, but it was a different kind of pain and accompanied by severe constipation, abdominal distension, and overall ill feeling. I went to a new GI and was told that 3 years ago, my test results were fine and I just had IBS. I was put on a probiotic, fiber supplements, colace, and miralax, as well as told to cut out dairy, red meat, and a variety of other things. Well, 10 months later I am still suffering and all that's been done for me is being told to take miralax 3x daily instead of once. Still suffering, thanks doctors.
Recently, I have also experienced a lot of hip pain and 2 mysterious 'viruses' that caused long bouts of diarrhea. They say IBS doesn't progress or get worse, so why am I getting worse?
Somebody please help me
I have IBS-A- alternating between constipation and diarrhea. Although most of the time I am dealing with the constipation part of it. I can tell you from experience that IBS is a chronic health condition that for the most part you won't get much help from the doctors as you have already found out. It's pretty much up to you to help yourself find out works for your body. Stress,anxiety,and depression can make IBS symtoms worse.