Thread: Osteoarthritis Arthritis in foot & ankle Need advice
View Single Post
Old 01-01-2013, 12:42 PM   #6
(female)

margarita889 HB Usermargarita889 HB Usermargarita889 HB Usermargarita889 HB Usermargarita889 HB Usermargarita889 HB User
Re: Arthritis in foot & ankle Need advice

Happy New Year Ann,

I have had arthritis in my feet and ankles for over 20 years. The orthotics are a great help and when the bones of my feet get locked(really, they sometimes won't move or bend at all) I have a chiropractor who can loosen them up again. I totally sympathize with your pain from the plantar fascitis. I had it in both feet at once a number of years ago(after a long day running a dance clinic for 200 little girls) and it took over 6 months to finally clear up. I am a teacher also, so it was agonizing. Have you had any physical therapy sessions to learn stretches? I found the one where you set the ball of your foot against a wall and lean in to be uncomfortable but very helpful. I also bought a couple of small flat ice packs and a pair of those ugly old-man slippers with a firm sole and not only iced when I got home from work but wore the ice packs and slippers to bed. It cut the pain so I could fall asleep and really helped. I still wear the slippers since they keep the weight of the blankets off my arthritic toes. In the end, what finally did the trick was a week-long boring conference that kept me completely off my feet-just long enough to get me finally healing. Here's hoping that this Christmas break has given your sore foot some rest and healing. Keep up with the anti-inflammatories every day until this is over. They are not just for pain-they help with swelling and with the inflammation that will move your arthritis along faster.