View Single Post
Old 02-06-2013, 09:07 PM   #9
(female)

KG5634 HB UserKG5634 HB User
Re: xlif for L4-L5 plif for L5-S1

I am so very sorry for all you are going through. I don't mean to sound like a idiot, but what exactly is cliff and plif? I hurt my back 18yrs ago when I was only 26. I was a coach, physical Ed teacher and assistant athletic director at a small private school - which was actually the school I went to Hig School at. It happened when I was outside on lunch duty with the Middle schoolers. A completely out of the blue thing...the kids asked me to swing on the swings with them, unknown to them or me, the swing I got on was actually broken. So I swung for a few minutes and then one side of the seat fell out from under me and I went flying to the ground, feet up and landed on the hard ground smack on my low back. It took over a year for a dr to be able to tell me what was the matter with me - although I was in agony constantly and literally told the dr's it felt like something was sticking out in my low back. I had also been doing pt 3x's a week for over 6 months, wore a corset for 3 months had X-rays, mri, bone scan all to no avail . After 4 different dr's, I found one that said everything needed to diagnose me was in all the tests I had already had done. Anyway, I had a discectomy , fusion done at L5/S1 without hardware. Didn't start pt for about 4-5 months. 3 months of pt and I felt I couldn't do any more, the pain was too much so I had a ct scan done. The result- there wasn't a solid fusion. Soon a couple months later, back into surgery I had to go.this time, in order to make sure there wasn't going to be an issue with me actually achieving a successful fusion, the dr decided the best thing was to basically do 2 surgeries - an anterior/ posterior fusion of L5/S1 with a laminectomy, donor bone and more bone from my hip. That too was a VERY long surgery at 10hrs.