View Single Post
Old 02-24-2013, 08:08 PM   #59
(male)

vitcat2 HB Uservitcat2 HB User
Re: Post-Vitrectomy Vision & Possibility of Repeat Retinal Detachment

Hi Sree234,

You need to ask your dr "why" the vitretomy was done in your case. Did the accident cause retinal detachment (RD)? How bad was it - just peripheral RD, or central (macular) RD too? Is it a "macular hole" or a "macular pucker" (epi-retinal membrane), or both? Was there hemorrhage inside the vitreous? Was your lens damaged too? I am no doctor, but each case has its own prognosis, and recovery time. In my case, lens removal (due to cataracts) and replacement with IOL was the least of my problems, and I started seeing clearly immediately after the operation. I write this because if your lens is damaged then I am hoping they can replace it by an IOL (intra-ocular lens).