It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Abuse Support Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-30-2011, 02:46 AM   #1
(female)

munkey2419 HB User
HELP! Dealing with past childhood abuse.

Hello everyone!
I am new to all of this so please stay with me. I have been diagnosed with anxiety,depression, and insomnia in the past. I currently can't afford to go to therapy due to my unemployment, so I was hoping you guys might be able to help. I am twenty-three, and have been physically and emotionally abused.

Over the years I have been enrolled in many colleges, and I have had numerous jobs. I work hard and get A's or get offered promotions, and then I quit school or my job. As a child I would quit everything mid-way too. Now, due to my self-destruction I have a hard time leaving my house or applying for jobs, afraid of being judged. This has been on and off for a few years now, and I am completely dependent on my fiance. At first I thought it was just depression, and I had a hard time remembering anything about my childhood.

As I was in therapy I realized all of the things that had happened to me. My therapist told me I never had to see any of them again, but for some reason I love them so much. Everyday I have an inner battle about these emotions. Then, my therapist recommended that I confront them about my past. I confronted some of my family members, my brothers apologized and my mother gave me validation. The apologies seemed insincere and the validation did not help at all. I thought it was supposed to help, but it just seemed to make things worse.