It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Acid Reflux / GERD Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-14-2006, 09:24 PM   #1
Facilitator
(female)

MountainReader HB UserMountainReader HB UserMountainReader HB UserMountainReader HB UserMountainReader HB UserMountainReader HB UserMountainReader HB UserMountainReader HB UserMountainReader HB UserMountainReader HB UserMountainReader HB User
Raising head of bed for GERD

My GI doctor told me I needed to raise the head of my bed 4-6 inches to help with my acid reflux. He said just raising my head with pillows or using a wedge are not as effective because they through the esophogus out of allignment. I found some blocks to raise my bed 5 inches. I have been sleeping this way for the last 2 1/2 months. I am still having trouble adjusting to sleeping on the incline. It is kind of difficult to really relax because I feel like I am sliding. Every morning when I wake up, my feet are hanging off the bed. I really don't like tucking my sheets in around the base of the bed. Does anyone else have difficulty sleeping on the incline? What are your experiences with this? Any suggestions--I really don't like waking up with my feet dangling?

The good news is that between the bed, meds, diet, etc... my reflux isn't as bad as it was in February so I am reluctant to put my bed back flat.

Old 06-15-2006, 12:35 AM   #2
(male)

pohaku HB User
Re: Raising head of bed for GERD

Yea, I had exactly the same thing like you, I just took out the blocks and back on the old way, I now use diet and madicine to control my night Gerd. I am using Zegerid and seems work for me. no beer and I missed it.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 06-15-2006, 05:44 AM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)

Ol'Line Rebel HB UserOl'Line Rebel HB User