It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Acid Reflux / GERD Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-13-2007, 07:02 PM   #1
(male)

Frodoh HB User
Some Reflux Questions

Hi all - a few questions if you don't mind

Why does my heartburn only happen at night? Is it because I am sitting down? Is it because heart rate and blood pressure are lower at night?

Also

When I get episodes with heartburn my mouth produces a really thick saliva which I have to spit into a paper cup because I just can't swallow it. Is this normal?

Thanks all

Old 05-13-2007, 08:31 PM   #2
Inactive
(female)

~K~ HB User
Re: Some Reflux Questions

Hi, I am no expert and am having to learn more than I ever wanted or needed about these horrid symptoms Now, quick vent out of the way lol!
Your reflux could be worse at night for two reasons - Gravity works against you when you lie flat and secondly, digestion slows down at night.
Many of us have the thick, copious saliva, it's a normal vagal response to nausea, heartburn. I have this constantly, and have just started a post asking if anyone has this all of the time...
Kim

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-14-2007, 01:33 PM   #3
(male)

Frodoh HB User

I tend to agree. I ate lunch today and no heartburn. I was up and about at work - and even took a walk for some exercise.

My gut seems to function pretty well during the day and as you said it seems to malfunction at night.

So my short term remedy for all of this is to eat most of my calories earlier in the day and have a light meal at night. I bet a lot of night-time reflux sufferers do this.

As for the thick, unswallowable saliva it only accompanies my night-time reflux so I suppose my eating schedule can resolve both issues.

Hope you feel better K!

Old 05-14-2007, 05:40 PM   #4
Senior Veteran
(female)

famnd HB User