It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Acid Reflux / GERD Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-17-2007, 04:46 PM   #1
Veteran
(female)

CandP HB User
Chewing Gum

Does that help strengthen the muscles around the mouth/throat? I was told to chew gum often for this purpose. And make bubbles to strengthen the tongue etc. I've been choking on my food for about two years, and it was during those years I kept away from gum...I just grew tired of it. Could I have weakened my muscles in any way? I'm 30, but I do have some sort of nerve problem which effects my speech a bit. It has been stable for years - hasn't progressed. But I do have some sort of difficulty manuvering my food around my mouth...solid tough foods like steak, onions, peppers....I'm going for a esophagram in a mouth...any advice? The doc I went to (stomach doc) believes I don't have a serious problem though.

Old 05-18-2007, 12:32 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

alex12 HB Useralex12 HB User
Re: Chewing Gum

I never heard of that but I do know that there are breathing excercises that strengthen you throat muscles, you can go to a speach therapist and they will teach you or search the web for them...
Its a method of breathing in quickly through your nose and making a long shhhhh sound out of your mouth ( I know that is one method , but there are a few).

Good Luck!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-18-2007, 06:48 PM   #3
Veteran
(female)

CandP HB User

Quote:
Originally Posted by alex12 View Post
I never heard of that but I do know that there are breathing excercises that strengthen you throat muscles, you can go to a speach therapist and they will teach you or search the web for them...
Its a method of breathing in quickly through your nose and making a long shhhhh sound out of your mouth ( I know that is one method , but there are a few).

Good Luck!