It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Acid Reflux / GERD Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-06-2007, 07:56 PM   #1
(male)

ingallsm HB User
New to Boards - Getting Familiar

Members:

I am new to ths board but am anxious to learn about others and their experience with acid reflux disease.

It all started in January of 2006, I started having chest and arm pain off and on for a couple of weeks. I became concerned that it was my heart and went to the hospital. Up until then I had never had any symptoms like these. I didn't think it was heart related but wanted to find out. The ER doctors ran blood tests, EKG, chest xray, and told me that I had acid reflux disease. I was given a prescription for Prilosec. A few days later I went to see my Primary Care Physician and he did another EKG, it was normal. He also sent me for a Stress Test with Echocardiogram. Both tests were normal. I also had a full abdominal ultrasound that was normal. I took the meds but with little help. This disease is very strange, I was having arm pain, chest pain, and nausea. I went back to the doctor a few months later because I was doing no better and he sent me for an endoscopy. The endoscopy was normal. Then PC Physician then put me on Aciphex. This med seemed to help aleve some of the symptoms. I went back to my doctor last week for a checkup and he gave me an EKG which was normal.

I guess my biggest fear is having undiagnosed heart disease. I am only 35and have normal BP and cholesterol. I still cant shake the fear of heart trouble. I have pressed my doctor but he says that nothing is wrong with my heart, it is acid reflux. He says that coronary artery disease would show on Stress Test or EKG. He did say that he would refer me to a Cardiologist if it would make me feel better but he said that the Cardio would likely run another stress test.