It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Acid Reflux / GERD Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-30-2007, 09:08 PM   #1
(female)

bihlerk HB User
Dance Teacher with shortness of breath...Please Help

Hi,
A couple weeks ago I started noticing that i was experiencing chest pains in the center of my chest along with back pain in between my shoulder blades. I also caught myself burping quite a bit. I went to my regular internal medicine doctor. He first gave me an EKG and a chest and lung x-ray. He told me that that those 3 tests came back looking fine. He gave me some samples of prevacid and told me it was acid reflux.
The pain still persisted with the prevacid. It was getting hard to be active at work. I am a dance teacher and I am required to exercise even when I don't feel up to it. After 2 weeks of the chest pains I decided to go to the E.R. They kept me over night for observation. They performed a stress test,MRI,cat scan, multiple EKG's,echo cardiogram, and a chest x-ray. All of those test came back looking fine. The doc said everything look was definitely fine with my heart and referred me to a gastro. doc. The gastro doc performed an endoscopy and found that my esophagus is inflamed. Would this cause my shortness of breath? He should be calling me back with the definite results with in the next couple of days. For right now, he prescribed me Carafate 4 x a day. The symptoms have lessoned in the past week, but the shortness of breath and fatigued is still very apparent. I am also suffering from multiple panic attacks a week which can't be healthy and is probably making the situation worse. My job requires me to be active. I really need some advice on how to juggle my pain along with having to constantly exercise. If anyone has any advice please let me know. I really want to be a normal, active, 27 year old dance teacher again.
Thanks.