It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Acid Reflux / GERD Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-01-2008, 07:57 AM   #1
Veteran
(female)

tiredpoet HB User
Prilosec side effects

I'm fairly new to medication for acid reflux. I finally went to a gastrenterologist in Dec after several years of on/off heartburn. When I started Adderall in June I noticed it gave me a burning pain in my chest that could be reflux (since my heart has been checked out and is fine, it was the other logical reason), so I figured I'd better get it checked out. The gastro didn't really examine me, she just asked me some questions, gave me a prescription for 20mg prilosec daily and said to schedule an endoscopy "if I wanted to."

I started taking the Prilosec in Dec and since then have gained a few pounds, despite the fact that adderall suppresses my appetite and I don't eat much. (Since starting adderall in June I had lost about 10 to 12 pounds, and since starting Prilosec in Dec I have gained 5). Now I am reading quite a bit about weight gain as a side effect of Prilosec. I had never heard of this before. It makes sense that if you experience less heartburn you might be able to enjoy food more and therefore might eat more, but that's not the case for me because the adderall makes me not hungry.

Does anyone have any insight into Prilosec possibly causing weight gain, and if there are other acid reflux meds that don't do this? If you've taken Prilosec and feel it caused weight gain, please share your experience.

(The Prilosec doesn't work that great anyway (maybe because it's only 20mg). I get similar relief from OTC meds so if I can find something better that doesn't cause weight gain that would be ideal.) Thanks!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-01-2008, 09:13 PM   #2
(male)

NormanB HB User
Re: Prilosec side effects