It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Acid Reflux / GERD Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-19-2009, 02:39 PM   #1
(female)

dbdnyc HB User
never felt GERD til I started meds & voice problems-how long till voice normal again?

I started getting husky about 6 weeks ago. Thought it was allergy but when it didn't stop I saw an ENT 2 weeks ago. He said, yes there is some problems from allergy and to do a neti pot and also allergy nasel spray but also that I had acid reflux. What is odd about this is I do not drink coffee/tea/alcohol and I'm a vegetarian. So I'm not a meat eater which is said to not be good for this. I have slept elevated for years to prevent eye puffiness. So I'm wondering if I have a hernia causing this. I HAD no signs of this till the ENT told me it was a problem other than the huskiness.

Note my profession is as a singer. (I'm on performance leave now for 3 months till I sort this) I've started meds,pantoprazole to take 30 mins before meals and the nose spray. It's 10 days now on this and my voice is STILL HUSKY - I've just done 4 days of total voice rest to try and speed things along. But still no change.

Also since I started the MEDS for the 1st time I'm actually starting to feel SYMPTOMS of GERD. Burning, Burping etc...

One more thing. I see contradicting info on what is good to eat and what isn't as far as 'mint' and 'pineapple' and a few other things. Where can you find ACCURATE info online? As a vegetarian I don't know what veggies are safe and what isn't. All my grains are 'whole' not white. And I don't use sugar but for agave. OH And I drink Almond and Hemp milks and only low fat cheese. What more can I change that hasn't already been my lifestyle to get my voice back? THANKS ALL!!!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 06-19-2009, 08:59 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)