It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Acid Reflux / GERD Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-14-2013, 10:21 PM   #1
(female)

Sezza84 HB User
Sore throat for years due to reflux now im pregnant help!

Hi everyone,
I am new to all of this health forum stuff but am seeking some help that i can't seem to find anywhere else.
I am 28 an had my tonsils removed when i was 21. After this i had a sore throat for 2 years straight not really thinking anything of it. Over the years i developed indigestion after almost everything i eat and still continued to get very sore throat here and there that would last for weeks at a time. I know it sounds stupid but i never thought much of it, i had had glandular fever also at 21 and just thought it was part of that, i was also smoking at this time, naughty i know.
Anyway it was only about 18 mnth i was diagnosed with acid reflux that seem to mainly occur when i was sleeping. The Dr put me on Nexium 20mg which helped for a bit but the sore tight throat would come back a soon as i stopped. I quit smoking 12 mnth ago which seemed to help a little but the Dr pretty much said i would have to be on Nexium forever!! No endoscope or anything.
I am now 12 wks pregnant with my first baby and discovered i also have gall stones before this, i am not over weight, i am following a healthyish diet, not eating after 7 and elevating my pillows but as i am unable to take the nexium and zantac and gaviscon do nothing, my sore throat is back in full force.
I am so scared about things getting serious as it has been 6 years with this, how long does it take to develop something serious like Barretts or cancer even? i would love to get an endoscope now but the Dr said i can't during pregnancy, is this true? i have read about people having them whilst pregnant? I'm hoping someone can help as this is really worrying me .
Thankyou

Sponsors Lightbulb