It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Acne Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-28-2003, 11:57 PM   #1

corona4 HB User
i want to try accutane. what should i know? dosage...etc.

i've pretty much had it. life sucks with acne. i've tried every over-the-counter spooge cleansing crap there is...it hasn't worked. i've been doing proactiv twice a day for 3 months...it hasn't worked.
so...the next step, i figure, is accutane.
i've read a few posts on here, and i'm not really worried about the side effects (flaky skin, dry lips...etc)...i would be more than happy with that, instead of acne.
so, what do i need to know?
i don't want to go see a dermotologist, because they'll charge me up the *** to look at me for 5 minutes, then write me a perscription, or tell me that it's not that bad, and i should just wait it out. i know a few people who are doctors though, and i can easily get a perscription from one of them.

what should the dosage be? i see some people with 40mg a day, and others with 80mg+. do they come in 20mg pills, and you take 3 to make 60mg, or does the perscription specify the pill size?

i'm 6'5", 180lbs. i have pretty medium acne. between 1-3 cysts every week...and tons of little white heads. just to give you an idea of the kind of acne i have....if there's different dosages for different kinds.

i've heard of a initial breakout period...approximately how long would it last?
also, i see that people cycle accutane. how many months should the cycle be...on and off? do you die if you take it continuously?

i'm at a loss of what else to do...
i just can't stand having acne anymore. it's ruining any social life...it makes me depressed...feel like ****, miss classes just cause i don't want anyone to see me...etc.
call me insecure or whatever you may, but that's the way i am...and that's the way i'll be

i just want to get rid of acne.