It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Acne Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-03-2003, 06:08 PM   #1
Veteran

Neca HB User
Cool The drinks are on me...if it's healthy!

Hey all,

I know it is a paradoxical question to ask but does anyone know which is the "best" alcohol that is least acne-prone i.e. the "healthiest" alcoholic drink? I know alcohol is a factor in causing acne but I'm a student and bindge drinking is unfortunately part of the lifestyle. After a drinking session my skin always looks terrible (the next day).

So far I have narrowed down the following alcoholic beverages to be the worst in my experience, listed in order of acne-proness. The top being most acne-prone:

1. BEER>>> too much carbohydrate at once
2. Alco-Pops e.g. Hoops, Smirnoff ICE, Barcardi Breezer etc.>>> too sugary
3. Liquor & Sweet spirits e.g. Bailey's>>> again too sweet
4. Cocktails>>> a mixture of everything but in moderation
5. Wine
6. Common spirits e.g. Vodka,Gin etc.>>> seem to effect my skin the least

Please don't tell me I shouldn't be drinking alcohol in the first place if I don't want acne because I already know that. Unfortunately there are times when you need a break after studying hours on end for exams...

I just wish there was a healthy/organic (lol) alcoholic drink! If there is one, then I will buy the ENTIRE FORUM each a drink!

Thanks for any contribs.

Old 12-04-2003, 04:07 PM   #2
Veteran

Neca HB User
Re: The drinks are on me...if it's healthy!