It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Acne Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-10-2003, 05:34 PM   #1

disco HB User
Growing a beard to cover acne

It's something I've considered a lot... I'm a substitute teacher, and so it kind of sucks when I get called into an older classroom and have worse acne than the students. Not so good on the self-esteem.. The little kids are great ;o) but the adolescents... makes it even more intimidating. Anyhoo, when I first started I grew a beard (last spring - I was 23) and I had so much more confidence; as well I think that was part of the reason the kids respected me a lot more - not visible acne and facial hair combined to make me a little older and more worthy of respect in their eyes. Anyhoo, is it a good idea to grow a beard when you still have active acne? I can imagine it would be ok if you're groing it to cover up scars, as the ane's not active... but what about it I still have acne (mostly on jawline and neck below ears... hmm... would have to grow a weird beard to cover that stuff up... ;o)...
Anyhoo, let me know. I guess I lok alright in a beard, I suppose. Thing is, it REALLY sucks when I shave, as my acne breaks out like anything. SO I'd be committing to about a year or two of bearded life; I could always shave the day after school lets out and then in summer vacation it wouldn't matter how I look...
THanks SOO much
D

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 12-10-2003, 07:33 PM   #2

King Humbert HB User
Re: Growing a beard to cover acne

Quote:
Originally Posted by disco