It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Acne Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-09-2005, 10:18 AM   #1
(female)

pandi428 HB User
Birth Control, Differin, Help!

I am a 22 year old female, who started to get acne pretty late in my teens, around 17. I've been seeing the same derm for 5 years and I have been using Differin gel (at night) for 5 years. My skin has never completely cleared up. I tried going off the Differin a while back and my face just went nuts, I think I'm dependent on it now. I was also on Duac Gel during the day, but it wasn't helping much at all. I tried oral antibiotics, but they just caused me to get yeast infections so I had to stop taking them. Over the summer, I tried Retin A Micro, but it was WAY too harsh for my skin, making it dry, itchy, red, and breaking out like crazy. Last year, I started birth control pills in another effort to clear my skin. I was on Yasmin and my skin did start to clear up a little bit. I was pretty happy with the results, but I wanted my skin to be completely clear so I thought I would try Ortho-Cyclen. I was put on the generic of that, Sprintec. I've been on Sprintec for 3 months now and I am not happy with it. I feel like my face is worse than ever. I am constantly breaking out on the sides of my face and my forehead. These areas were relatively clear before the Sprintec. My derm also prescribed me Cleocin T 1% Pledgets to use during the day. Does this make acne worse before its better? I'm going to call my gyno tomorrow and see about getting switched back to Yasmin. I don't know what else to do, I am so frustrated!! I'm also thinking about seeing a new derm. Has anyone had succeess with Yasmin? Have I been on Differin too long? I'd appreciate anyone's opinions or similar experiences. Thanks so much.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-09-2005, 10:35 AM   #2
(female)

honey4 HB User
Re: Birth Control, Differin, Help!