It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Acne Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-29-2003, 03:02 PM   #1

pinupvirgin HB User
Unhappy women, hormones, & acne

hi everyone- well, I've been hanging around this board for about 3 months now & my acne has been getting steadily worse. I'm about 95% sure it's hormonal, but would love some feedback from the experienced ladies out there- I've been reading your posts & you know who you are! hahaha... I have generally had decent skin in the past, the occasional pimple here or there, nothing too major. I had a baby 9 months ago & my skin has gone to hell ever since. While I was pregnant my skin was GREAT, it really never looked better. I am breastfeeding, which causes the body to stop producing estrogen, only progesterone. I'm pretty sure that what's happening now is the androgen is the "dominant" hormone in my body, causing most of these zits. Right now I have about 5-6 small cysts, all on my chin! nasty. Plus a few other smaller ones here & there. I was diagnosed with Graves disease about 13 years ago, & have been on anti-thyroid meds since. My current endocrinologist wants me to get RAI therapy done, killing most of my thyroid. Apparently it's better to be on thyroid replacement drugs than suppressant drugs long-term. I have not been to a derm yet, because the ones in my area have like 6 month waiting periods. I did see my primary care doctor, who gave me some topical erythromycin- which is helping, it makes the zits go away faster. Thing is, I can't really take any BC pills w/estrogen or heavy-duty acne meds due to my child nursing still. I guess the reason I'm blabbing on & on & on is that I want those of you in the know to give me some feedback- does this sound hormonal to you? And, does anyone think/hope (like I do!) that once I stop breastfeeding, things should look up somewhat? There are a lot of factors in play, what wi