It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Acne Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-01-2003, 12:59 PM   #1

decca HB User
Post Hormones, Diet, Exercise, and ACNE

Hello all- I've been reading this forum for a long time, but this is my first time posting. I have suffered from acne for about 10 years, and I'm pretty convinced it's hormonal. I have tried Diane 35, which worked pretty well until my hair started falling out *GASP!* For the past 6 months I've been on spiro with decent results. However, I didn't start making real progress until I changed my diet and exercise habits.

I know that SweetJade has posted LOTS of good info about the insulin/diet/acne connection. I pretty much dismissed all that (sorry Jade) until I decided to start working out, lifting weights, running and paying lots of attention to my eating. For the past 2-3 months, I have been working out with weights and running about 4x per week and eating a small meal every 3 hours. I believe this has had everything to do with my skin improving recently.

I think that the new and improved eating habits especially has been what's really helped me. I have stopped eating refined carbohydrates (well, maybe I cheat every now and then). I make sure to get a good balance of protein/fibrous carbs/good fats with each meal. Any my skin has never been better. Not only that, but I've been able to reduce my body fat and gain lots of muscle tone to boot.