It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Acne Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-14-2006, 07:10 PM   #1
(male)

llouis HB User
What's with the bloodtest and accutane?

Ok, I've been browsing thru many threads and it seems like most of you guys went for bloodtest and counselling before prescribing accutane? so what's the purpose?

Why not me? I have been prescribing isotetrinion (accutane) for 6 months now and i never been for bloodtest or whatsoever. does it mean i am not following the procedure?

what i did is that i asked my doc to get me on accutane and he agreed. all he did is asking me for my weight and from how much i weight, he concluded that i need to take on accutane for a year.

but it seems like this is not a case but you guys. can anybody shares your experience? i'm worried if it might go wrong for me. thanks in advanced.

Old 11-15-2006, 12:50 AM   #2
(female)

jgarr10 HB User
Re: What's with the bloodtest and accutane?

wow your doctor is not following procedure whatsoever.

accutane treatment is different amongst males and females. I myself was on it for 6 months and was required to be on birth control for a month before even beginning treatment, but males are able to begin it about a week after their initial appointment, because this is the amount of time it takes for the results of the blood tests that were not performed on you for whatever reason to come back.

the blood tests are required for both males and females. this is to keep a track of the patient's cholesterol and triglyceride levels, because the ingredients in accutane have the possibility of raising both to unhealthy levels. also accutane is required to only be prescribed for no longer than 6 months at a time, and if a second course is required, there must be a one month waiting period between each course.