It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Acne Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-16-2003, 11:04 AM   #1

Jess0018 HB User
Post Bactrim, Tazorac

Just wanted to ask if anyone has any experience with these two medications. I just went to a new derm and he switched my medications to these and one other that I can not remember the name of.

I had previously been using doryx(doxycycline), differin, and Benzaclin which I had been using for 2 years without much satisfaction.

Old 03-16-2003, 02:36 PM   #2
(female)

gobbleduck HB User
Bactrim worked great for me, but you should not take it long term. You should also get blood tests while you're on it because it can cause low blood counts. My current derm does not prescribe Bactrim to acne patients for this reason.

I just started using Tazorac myself so I can't comment much on it. It seems to work about the same as Differin, but with less oiliness.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-17-2003, 08:10 AM   #3
Veteran

EMMANUEL HB User
Hi,

I'm on Tazorac--just switched from retin-a. It's supposed to be stronger than retin-a, at least that's what my derm said. I guess it takes time. I can't really give you advice on how well it works bc I'm pms, and it's spring-and for some reason, I always break-out in Spring.

I did try it before, and it was awesome!! It made my usually oily skin, perfectly balanced. They were samples-1%, but now I have .5%, and I need to go back to 1% since it worked better. (They give me samples, and they only had 5% on hand.)

I used to take Dynacin, which worked wonders, but ran out, and it's really expensive, so now they have me on Doryx(doxy). Unfortunately, I have to pay for meds, so I rely on them giving me samples, and sometimes they don't have what is best for me.

Once you come off the bactrim, you should ask for Dynacin(mino), it's good.

Good Luck.

Peace

~*Emma*~

Old 03-17-2003, 05:02 PM   #4