It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Acne Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-09-2011, 07:52 AM   #1
(female)

nomnom HB User
Smile What helped my perioral dermatitis!

I've never written a post before in my life, but after suffering from POD on and off for many years, I figured I had to give back after finding out so much information from these types of helpful boards. My first outbreak of POD was a few years ago, just a small isolated area under my mouth, but it grew and ended up looking like herpes. Terrible for my self esteem, and it took more than a year of treatment with antibiotics, and topical creams from my dermatologist. It had subsided and I hadn't had a recurrence until recently. I think it was prompted by the use of an SPF.

Over the years, I've gotten more involved in natural solutions for ailments, so I decided to try a different route this time. Initially, I did go to the dermatologist, and he put me on a course of minocycline, and clindamycin (topical), as well as Protopic. The clindamycin made my skin worse, so I stopped that, but I tolerated the antibiotic and Protopic fine. I hate being on antibiotics though, so after a month and half I went off it. My symptoms seemed to come back, but I didn't want to go back on it, so I started my own routine. It's quite labor intensive, and to be honest, I'm not sure what exactly got my skin back to normal, but I think it's a combination of everything. Here is my daily regime: