It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

ADD / ADHD Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-15-2004, 09:51 AM   #1

skittlechick2oo HB User
Wondering

Since I was a freshman in high school, I have had a problem in school with making bad grades and not being able to maintain focus in and out of class on my schoolwork. I get bad grades and I canít seem to find an explanation for it. I am in college now, and I really cant afford to be making these bad grades. When I was in high school, the teachers wanted me to get tested to see if I had a problem, but my parents refused. So now that it is very important for me to be making these good grades, I have a problem actually doing it. When I am in class, I can sit still just fine, and I donít find myself leaving frequently. I think I take good notes, and I pay attention to the teacher. The problem is, when I come back from class to study what I had done in class, my mind is a complete blank. When I am supposed to read a selection out of a book for homework, I will read through it, and when Iím done, I have no idea what I just read. I am also not a good test taker. I could study for 3 hours and still not retain a single thing. The only time that I do remember things is when I am doing things hands on, like in a lab or something, but the only things that I remember are what I actually did, not the notes. What I am wondering is, do I have ADD or do I have a different problem? Thanks for your help!

Old 03-15-2004, 10:43 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

index.html HB User
Re: Wondering

Hi skittlechick,

It's possible that you have ADD. Here's a link to the checklists used to diagnose ADD (because it's a government site, it should be okay for me to post here):
[url]http://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/adhd/symptom.htm[/url]