It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

ADD / ADHD Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-02-2004, 12:40 PM   #1

daverr HB User
Adderall - vs - dexedrine

Hi folks,

I'm new to the message board and looking for some information. I was diagnosed at the age of 20 when I had almost completely destroyed my life. Since then, I've been on Dexedrine and my life has changed in ways that I never imagined. After suffering through severe weight loss and the other usual side effects, I managed to get everything under control and have actually gained more weight than I started with (much to my dismay).

Now my psychologist is recommending that I try Adderall. Apparently, the transition is almost seamless (or so I'm told). The only difference is that I only have to take one dose/day instead of two and I have to pay 10 times as much because it's only 50% covered under my drug plan. I just wanted to check before I go out and drop a big wad of cash for a few pills....has anyone done the transition?? Good or bad side effects??

Any help would be appreciated.

Old 04-04-2004, 04:58 AM   #2

Neuromind10 HB User
Re: Adderall - vs - dexedrine

Hello, iv been researching psychostimulants lately, because i was recently diagnosed with add, mainly due to my prior drug use. Im surprised my doctor even persribed me adderall, but he knows im not a stimulant abuser, mainly a downer, or opiate addict. I took a 2 page test and he perscribed me 10mg of adderall 2x daily per month.