It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

ADD / ADHD Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-05-2004, 09:02 AM   #1
(female)

Paula B HB User
We've Lost Our Son

Moms always know their children. Growing up I always knew that my son was developmentally different from my daughter. He was soooooo active , but I really thought that it was just because he was a boy. I am an elementary teacher and one year I had a student with add. His mom gave me some information about it and I started to research the topic. At 4 years of age we had our son evaluated and he was found to have adhd. We did not want to give him medication but found it was necessary once he was in first grade. The ritalin was amazing. He went from being a nonreader to one of the top in his class. School was always a challenge but we made it through. During these years we also went to numerous support groups, counseling sessions, and behavior management programs. When my son graduated high school he decided that he did not want to take ritalin anymore....he did not want to take drugs. At 18 he developed an "I can now do whatever I want" attitude and now at age 20 things have only gotten out of control. We made him leave over the weekend because of the disrespect that he has for his family. Lately he has been sneaking girls into his room very late at night and he sees nothing wrong with it. His latest female friend is 3 years older than him,covered with tatoos and piercings, holds no job, and was recently been kicked out of her home. We told our son that she could stay with us but one of them had to sleep on the couch. We thought that was being nice. Well of course he disobeyed. I had some major surgery last week and he didn't even care. All he cared about was himself and shacking up. He was also told that we would not allow him to have a motorcycle. Along with "his sweetie" came a motorcycle. We had to stick by our