It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

ADD / ADHD Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-19-2004, 02:24 AM   #1

Blue81 HB User
Looking for some advice ...

Hey all,

I just have a few questions about ADD, and the symptoms as they relate to me. I know overall I should consult a doctor, but I wanted to get a few opinions first. I'm a 23-year-old male, and I'm a pretty successful student. I graduated valedictorian of my high school class, and I currently attend one of the nation's best universities. However, as I have gotten farther along in my academic career, I have started to question my attention span and the possibilities of ADD.

- I am a chronic procrastinator. Until I am under the gun, I can't get things together and accomplish anything. I wait until the last minute to study for exams, write papers, or anything else school related. I generally wait until the night before a test to study, even for midterms and final exams.

- I do most of my work when everyone else is sleeping because i find it impossible to work when things are going on. I pretty much have to be alone and study in a quiet environment to accomplish anything. (My sophomore year in college people called me the section vampire because i would stay up all night trying to do my work, only to catch up on sleep during the day.)

- When I write papers, I find myself writing a paragraph, printing it off, moving to another location (just to read through and think of new ideas) .... only to move back to the computer shortly thereafter. It is hard for me to stay in one place for very long in these situations.