It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

ADD / ADHD Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-22-2007, 06:22 PM   #1
(female)

cashmissa HB User
Unhappy Am I over medicating my son?

I am new to this. But I have been reading awhile. I have an almost 12 year old son. He has had ADD for about 5-6 years now. We have had him on almost everything. He has been on ritalin for about 3 yrs. now. It was great for awhile but just the past 6 months it hasn't worked. On top of that he was diagonosed with Type 1 diabeties about 1 1/2 years ago. He has to take 3 shots a day. He has to take thyroid meds. The doctor just took him off the ritalin and put him on Focal XR 10 mg. He was taking 30 mg of the ritalin. She also put him on prozac 10 mg. I just don't know anything about this Focal. Does anybody have any info on it? What about the prozac for a 12 year old?To me this is a lot of medication for a child. I had to go get one of those pill organizers to help keep up with it all. Any information on any of this would really help me.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-22-2007, 11:53 PM   #2
(male)

MarkTS HB User
Re: Am I over medicating my son?

First I must say that much of this is my opinion and is neither right or wrong okay. I don't believe your son is taking too many meds but I do believe that less is better whenever possible. I know this doesn't really help you out but as its very early in this process I'd say you should keep things the way they are and see over say the next month how things are going. If your not happy just ask the doc as many questions as you feel the need for but again ask some questions.

About the Focal XR I've done some searching and cannot find anything about this drug at all so I'm thinking its known by another name. The best thing you can do is share your concerns with his doctor and ask all questions you feel need answering.

Sponsors Lightbulb