It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

ADD / ADHD Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-25-2008, 12:59 PM   #1
(female)

patti71 HB User
Unhappy 9 year old son taking abilify

This is my first time posting.My son is 9 and has been put on abilify for about three weeks now. He has been having trouble since about 5. No medicine seemed to make a diiference so we tried nothing for almost two years.... hoping things got better.Hoping.... but no. So he is now on abilify... first two weeks i was SOOOOO happy and so was he.Things were 75% better.We even went out as a family (father,me ,brother,sister)to eat after almost two years of not being able to because of his behavior. Things have now returned to almost as they were before. He is very hyper.. disrespectful (shut-up, NO..etc)to me and husband.Very aggressive with 8 and 6 year old brother and sister.Have lost hope again...doctor has added an afternoon dose.no difference yet that i see.He is on 2.5 mg three times a day.Does any one else give this to their child and if so what is the dose and how is it working for you.I would GREATLY appreciate any help.Thank you.

Patti

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-26-2008, 02:32 PM   #2
(female)

bellablue2 HB User
Re: 9 year old son taking abilify

Patti: Dear lord it was so nice to read about your son and how hard it is to deal with ADHD.

My son is 8. He has been on three types of meds. Concerta worked well but his appetite was bad. He only ate at night after the med's wore off. He is now on Focalin. This med is supposed to help with eating.