It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

ADD / ADHD Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-27-2008, 11:20 AM   #1
(male)

jr2212 HB User
ADD or ADHD - Have teen with extreme anger issues, new to this need advice?

I have a 17 yr. old son who may have ADD or ADHD, we have him consulting a psychologist who is working on diagnosing him.

I'm new to this and I guess at times a little "old school" when it comes to understanding it. I look at the symptoms such as "procrastination, disorganization, difficulty sleeping, being fidgity, and difficulty concentrating" and I think, what teenager doesn't have some or most of this?

Of all the things that he may be displaying the overriding issue with us is his "anger". He is quick to anger, especially with me (I'm his father), he can anger over the smallest issues and of course larger issues. His anger is extremely explosive when it occurs and he seems to never get over it. His anger about various things just goes on forever, he'll get mad about something and be just as angry about it 6 weeks later as he was in the first 30 minutes. Several months ago I overheard him telling his girlfriend on the phone "that one minute I can be fine, even happy, then the next moment I can just snap over the smallest thing".

To compound the difficulty of our situation with him he broke his neck 8 months ago in a snowboarding accident. He appears to have made a good physical recovery but the accident seemed to serve as a flashpoint for his behavior. I believe that most or all of the issues that may indicate a possible ADD condition existed with him prior to the accident but were managable. It's as if things in his behavior, especially his anger have been magnified ten fold since his accident.