It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

ADD / ADHD Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-21-2008, 07:36 PM   #1
(male)

unteng10 HB User
Talking to doctor about ADHD

How would you go about talking to your doctor about getting tested for adult ADHD, and being put on medication if needed? I am a college student, going to a campus doctor. I really think I have adult ADHD and would like to get tested. But, im worried the doctor may think I am just trying to get medicine for the intent to sell, or won't take me seriously, because of my age and the fact that medications, like adderall and ritalin are such a problem on college campuses. Any ideas? I really want my mind to slow down, and be able to relax and get things done.

Old 12-22-2008, 06:04 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

janewhite1 HB Userjanewhite1 HB Userjanewhite1 HB Userjanewhite1 HB Userjanewhite1 HB Userjanewhite1 HB Userjanewhite1 HB Userjanewhite1 HB Userjanewhite1 HB Userjanewhite1 HB Userjanewhite1 HB User
Re: Talking to doctor about ADHD

Don't ask for a medicine. Just say, for example, that someone you know has ADHD, and you seem to have similar problems. Campus doctor might refer you off campus rather than prescribing himself, but go along with it.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 12-22-2008, 06:13 AM   #3
(male)

unteng10 HB User

That makes sense. I wonder how often they get people in there asking for medication.

Old 12-24-2008, 01:48 AM   #4
(male)

samwisegamjy HB User

I was prescribed Provigil (200mg) 2 weeks ago, but It gives me pounding headeaches. But I have also been on Straterra, Concerta, Effexor XR, and Lexapro, and now I'm telling my doctor that I want Adderral? My doctor is going to think im crazy! My cousin had some and it is the perfect medication for me, but I think the doctor is scared, because it can be addictive. But so is Concerta and Provigil! I have to travel home in 2 weeks!!!!!!