It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

ADD / ADHD Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-05-2009, 10:32 AM   #1
(female)

tvance HB User
My 7 year old diagnosed with ADD-no meds

I am so sad for my little guy. I had a LONG series of extensive testing done for my son to rule out ADHD and Dyslexia. I found out last week that he does have ADD (though he is off the wall hyper, I though that was ADHD?) and some "photopic" issues that make letters dance around on the page. The surprise is that he ALSO has a sleeping disorder and auditory processing. I feel horrible for him. The poor baby goes to bed at 8pm on school nights and wakes at 7am. Apparently he is not sleeping through or has some involuntary movement keeping him from deep sleep.
My questions (as I am new to all of this):
Does anyone know if all of these are linked?
Anyone ever heard of ADD that 96% of the time does not respond to stimulant medication? That is what we were told he has. I am not upset by this news, I was hesitant about medication to begin with. I just wanted to know what we should do to help him (I heard fish oil in it's natural form helps). It will take a few weeks for the official report to be mailed to me, that is why I posted here.

Old 01-05-2009, 12:51 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

janewhite1 HB Userjanewhite1 HB Userjanewhite1 HB Userjanewhite1 HB Userjanewhite1 HB Userjanewhite1 HB Userjanewhite1 HB Userjanewhite1 HB Userjanewhite1 HB Userjanewhite1 HB Userjanewhite1 HB User
Re: My 7 year old diagnosed with ADD-no meds

Okay, who performed this testing? What type of testing and what type of professional?

Stimulants are not helpful for everyone with ADHD, but I'm not aware of too many good ways to tell in advance who they will work for and who they won't. Generally doctors just test.