It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

ADD / ADHD Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-06-2009, 09:30 PM   #1
(male)

DadofSam HB User
Tips & Tricks Needed to Cope

OK..need some ideas here folks.

Here is some background.
1. I've never been diagnosed with ADD though from all the books I've read and therapists I've talked to, I have symptoms of it.
2. I am a very functional professional with a wonderful family (wife and young daughter). I have a great job, am good at what I do, and am well respected in my field. Though its stressful.
3. Family history is normal (what is "normal", not sure)
4. Being treated for hypothyroidism with Synthroid.
5. Slightly overweight, moderate drinker, fairly active.

So here are my problems that I have been facing my whole life that is troubling me now that I am a middle-aged (35) adult
- I have a short temper and allow my emotions to get the best of me which not only affects my professional life, it is affecting my personal life as well.
- I cannot focus for any longer than 10-15 minutes on any one task. My focus is literally llike a pinball going from one thing to the next. I find distractions to help me move on to the next thing when "I" am done with the taks at hand (not necessarily the people in the room with me).

Does anyone have any tips or tricks for me to help me with these issues? I am not into medicating or long-term therapy. The therapists I have seen have given up on me because I am functional but these things are starting to affect my way of life. Just looking for ideas. Not looking for the silver bullet. Thanks for listening.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 02-06-2009, 11:52 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

rheanna HB Userrheanna HB User
Re: Tips & Tricks Needed to Cope

DadofSam,