It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

ADD / ADHD Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-08-2009, 08:21 PM   #1
(male)

ADDstudent33 HB User
Adderall and coughing "tic"... frustrated!

my short story:

I'm a university student with diagnosed ADHD....was first put on concerta but could not handle the stomach pains (puked a few times). I was then put on 10 mg adderall immediate (twice a day) by my psychiatrist. Worked excellent first two weeks but then i increased it to 15 mg a day and slowy noticed i started to cough and could not controll it (esp in class where i had to walk out a few times). I talked to my psych today and she said the adderall was causing a coughing tick. I still take it (not as often) becuase it really helps but i'm now really frustrated due to the side effect. My psychiatrst told me to go back to 10 but still cough....she wants to put me on "Vyvanse". my question is what are the chances that the vyvanse wont bring out the coughing tick? I REALLY don't want to stop taking a stimulant (that works well) because my grades are vastly improving this semester....so well that i might actually pull a 3.5 gpa this semester! Please somebody tell me theres some hope in my situation!!

Old 04-09-2009, 03:39 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(male)

addprogrammer HB Useraddprogrammer HB Useraddprogrammer HB Useraddprogrammer HB Useraddprogrammer HB Useraddprogrammer HB Useraddprogrammer HB Useraddprogrammer HB Useraddprogrammer HB Useraddprogrammer HB Useraddprogrammer HB User
Re: Adderall and coughing "tick"...frustrated!

AddStudent,

Your question has got to be the easiest I've seen to answer. Go buy a couple bags of Rigolies. I'd better get the corrent spelling - be right back: Ricola Throat Drops or I guess anyother suck on cough drop will do.

Drink as much water as you can without drowning yourself. Stimulants dehydrate like nothing else.

Your problem is FIXED.

Bob