It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

ADD / ADHD Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-27-2010, 02:40 PM   #1
(female)

simplysarah85 HB User
Afraid of Adderall Tolerance.. PLEASE HELP!

Hello,

Let me briefly say that I just got diagnosed with ADD, from my doctor. I am 25 years old. I was classified with a learning disability in early grade school, for "perceptional impairment". I was never tested for ADD but I always struggled to focus on paying attention to things I was not interested in. if I was learning something I was interested in, like art for example, I had NO problem learning it. over the years I have learned to deal with my lack of focus to get through school, I found ways around it to compensate. I am very skilled in my area of art. I graduated with a BFA degree in graphic design. I was interested in my work, so even though there was a lot to concentrate on, I feel I did not have too many difficulties. However, the reason I got prescribed adderall was because I got fired from my last job because of my inability to stay focused, and therefore had poor job performance. It's easy for me to stay focused on my own creative projects, but not when I was given directions for creating, and paying attention for several hours. I'm great at what I do, when my head is in it.. but if not, I dread doing the task at hand, and can become anxious and depressed for feeling that way because I know it is my passion and I worked hard to get here.