It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

ADD / ADHD Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-04-2001, 01:42 PM   #1

forsure HB User
Question link between ADHD and thyroid??

My son is ADHD, my grandfather was hyperthyroid and had the symptoms of ADHD (they just didn't call it anything back then), I have graves disease (which is being hyperthyroid) and my brother has another thyroid disorder. I have read a couple of articles linking ADHD and thyroid, and was wondering if anyone else has a similar history in their family. I have mentioned this to my son's Pediatrician, but he just poo poos me.

Old 04-23-2001, 09:41 AM   #2

Angie E HB User
I'm new to the ADD board, but I am a regular on the IBS board. By going to the IBS board, I discovered I have Celiac disease which is a gluten intolerance. I can't eat wheat, rye, barley or oats. I also had Graves disease and there is a direct link between Graves and Celiac. Now I have disovered my son has ADD. I've read some indications of their being a link between ADD, Austism, Downs syndrome and Celiac Disease. Now, I'm beginning to wonder if it goes full circle. Celiac to Graves to ADD. If I had discovered Celiac before the Graves, the Graves wouldn't have happened. I'm trying an experiment with my son and I"m going to be feeding him more protein and less carbohydrates and trying to eliminate wheat and see what happens. This is just a theory of mine. There are several Celiac websites that link ADD with Celiac and Celiac with Graves. Too concidental?
Angie E

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-24-2001, 05:21 PM   #3

emmeline HB User
I am hypothyroid and have ADD as well. I have read many books on the subjects but have not yet come across any information that ties the two conditions together.

~emmeline~

Old 04-25-2001, 06:43 AM   #4

Angie E HB User
Emmiline: