It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

ADD / ADHD Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-06-2010, 08:51 PM   #1
(female)

italiangirl25 HB User
Unhappy Why can't I find the right medication!?

Hi!

I just registered to this site and this is my first time posting (it might be lengthy) so please bare with me

I am 20 years old and was diagnosed with ADHD during the September of 2010. Before being put on any medication I had all the typical symptoms of the inattentive type of ADHD. After 45 minutes of sitting down with a psychiatrist for the first time he prescribed me 30 mg's of Vyvanse. Within the first day of being on Vyvanse I was bouncing off the walls! I was cleaning my room like crazy, organizing all my school work, and even worked out for an hour. Never in my life had I felt so motivated, concentrated, and full of energy. Then night time rolled around and I started sweating, had no appetite, had the worst cotton mouth, and ended up only getting one hour of sleep. The next day I took 30 mg's of Vyvanse, as instructed, and felt all the same signs of energy and side effects as the day before but for some reason I was only able to concentrate for a couple hours then it completely went away. I thought taking another 30 mg pill was okay so I did. I continued taking two 30 mg pills of Vyvanse once a day for a month and in that time period I was able to kick *** in school but it came with some serious consequences. I was never able to sleep, I had constant dry mouth, I was beginning to get depressed and I was never hungry which lead to too much weight loss.