It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

ADD / ADHD Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-06-2011, 08:51 AM   #1
(female)

JustWant HB User
Exclamation Adderall and Losing Weight

Hi there,
I am a Newbie, so I will make this short and sweet I was prescribed 10mgs. 3x daily of Adderall for ADD. Everyone is telling me that Adderall will make me lose my appetite, and lose a LOT of weight. I am obese, and I am trying to figure out if anyone has any opinions/experience...etc., regarding this. Has anyone recently started taking Adderall with any weight loss in the first 1-2 weeks. Bad or good stories, is anyone in the same boat?? Thanks!

Last edited by JustWant; 01-06-2011 at 08:52 AM.

Old 01-06-2011, 11:01 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(male)

Thunor HB UserThunor HB UserThunor HB UserThunor HB UserThunor HB UserThunor HB UserThunor HB UserThunor HB UserThunor HB UserThunor HB User
Re: Adderall and Losing Weight

Adderall may suppress your appetite, but it's not by any means guaranteed. I believe that the appetite suppression side effect is more pronounced in people that are already to the lower end of normal, or even underweight.

As an obese person myself, I found little to no help in Adderall in the weight loss department, as it was not enough to treat my habit of self medicating with food. In my case, and I expect with many others who suffer with ADHD and obesity, 'appetite' was less my problem than chronic dopamine deficiency; I ate not because I was hungry, but because I wanted to eat. For weight loss, your best bet is still proper nutrition and lots of exercise (and believe me, I know how hard those are, so I empathize).