It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

ADD / ADHD Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-20-2011, 07:26 PM   #1
(female)

ruffaloc HB User
newly diagnosed, medication doesn't work

Hi, everyone. I am new to this discusion board, and, in fact, newly diagnosed with add, type inattentive. My psychiatrist prescribed adderall xr 20mg, and I'm taking a generic version, amphetamine salt. I have noticed no change in, well, anything.

My father and brother both have ADHD, and in the past 6-8 months I've figured I had it, too. In the past, I was anti-medication, a disbeliever in the stronghold depression can have, and therefore, I've been reluctant to acknowledge my weaknesses as anything but lazy incompetence.

A friend of mine thought he would try to help me, and introduced me to Dexedrine. I was taking 25mg approximately 5 times per week for approximately two months. It worked fantastic, and I have never had so much control of my life. Two weeks ago, before I gained the courage to schedule an appointment with a psychiatrist, a different friend, who is medicated for ADHD, allowed me to try some of her generic adderall, Vyvanese 30mg. I wasn't particularly keen on it, as it did not measure to Dexedrine's effectiveness, but it was better than taking nothing at all. I did feel I had improved focus, and my mind stopped racing, however I felt a little zombie-like, and that halted my productivity.

How do I approach my psychiatrist about this, when I go back in one month? I have read that Dexedrine is not prescribed so often anymore, due to its addictive nature. I would like to try brand Adderall, but I'm not currently insured, and for 30 20mg brands around here, it costs between $240-280.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated

Best,
Christin

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-21-2011, 05:48 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(male)