It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

ADD / ADHD Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-24-2011, 02:27 PM   #1
(male)

adhdadd HB User
nervous about ritalin and drug testing

This is my first post. First i want to say hello to all. I have been reading the health boards and the site is very imformative. thank you.

here is my story , i hope this helps.

I have been a law enforcement officer for the past 10 years. ever since i been on the job, i have had many add issues, like interupting people while they talk, losing some focus when someone talks to me, however when it comes to doing police work, i am very good what i do, i just cant take promotional tests beecasue i cannot study or remember what i studied. i easily get bored and my mind wanders when it comes to studying. I often feel lethargic and my wife of 15 years tells me that i drift off when she talks to me or that i dont listen to her. my kids sometimes talk to me and i sometimes do not listen or dont want to hear it. I want the family life to approve and i certainly want to move up the ranks in my job. i recently saw my doctor and he wants to put me on 10mg of ritalin. my job radomly drug tests me, hair and urine and i am afraid my job will find out and fire me. I really want to move up the ranks but dont know if i could. I would like to know anyone that has any information on ritalin, most people say no it cannot be detected and some say it can. I recently contacted the lab that does the urine and hair anaylses and they told me that ritalin does not show up on the test. i called twice and both times they told me ritalin does not show up. I dont know if they are telling me the truth or brushing me off the phone, plus i dont trust my job not to fire me. i called a third time and they asked me what agency i worked for, i told them and then they told me they werent allowed to tell me after they told me previously