It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

ADD / ADHD Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-19-2011, 05:38 PM   #1
(female)

Shelmo08210 HB User
ADHD child lying/motivation

I have a 12 year old child who was diagnosed with ADHD at the age of 5. After all these years we are noticing that he has no motivation to do anything that involes any effort. He loves soccer and wants to play but he is not aggressive and waits for the ball to come to him. He does things half assed all the time. Now he has been lying and losing friends over it. I am so concerned about this. How do you get a kid to be self motivating? How do you get them to realize and own up to a lie if they tell one? He screams he hates his life when he gets caught and this breaks my heart. I am new to this message board and hope I can find some help here. Thank you in advance.

Shelmo

Old 09-20-2011, 07:43 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

Brocallie HB UserBrocallie HB UserBrocallie HB UserBrocallie HB UserBrocallie HB User
Re: ADHD child lying/motivation

You described my daughter to a "t." She is 14, and has gone from the toddler/preschooler/young child who had to be constantly "toned down" to a lazy, lying, unmotivated slug. My daughter is an extremely talented swimmer...could easily be nationally ranked....but whenever she feels the sensation of "muscle fatigue" she slows down or quits outright. It's the same with homework, maintaining friendships, chores, etc. Heck, until recently she was even a failure at wiping her butt!

Is your child on meds? Mine is, and recently she's begun seeing a psychotherapist to work on social/emotional issues and I'm beginning to see some glimpses of the "old" child I once had. Adolescence is tough, and the ADHD, etc just makes things worse and at least in my case, I think my child "shut down."

Hope this helps a little. You aren't alone!